It seems as though social media is over-run by quotes.  However, I am still impelled to share my short list of quotes that I have kept close at hand over a long period of time.  I can’t say I live by all of them, but they do inspire me when I choose to go back over the collection.  I hope you enjoy them too.  Which one can you relate to?

Speech is conveniently located between thought and action, where it often substitutes for both.  John Andrew Holmes (brother of Oliver Wendell Holmes)  I really need to remember this one, but I struggle.

The world is so empty if one thinks only of mountains, rivers and cities, but to know someone here and there who thinks and feels with us and who, though distant, is close to us in spirit, this makes the world for us an inhabited garden.  Wolfgang Goethe  This was on the wedding gift I gave to a close friend almost 30 years ago and it exemplifies how I live my life – remembering my friends hither and yon.

Only those who will risk going too far can possibly find out how far they can go.
T.S. Eliot

COURAGE doesn’t always roar.
Sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, “I will try again tomorrow.”

Experience is what you get when you don’t get what you want.
Randy Pausch

“Books, to the reading child, are so much more than books–they are dreams and knowledge, they are a future, and a past.”  Esther Meynell   Books… especially children’s books and young adult books are treasures.  I will share some of my favorites in the weeks to come.

I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination. Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world.  Albert Einstein  I try….

