I have a friend who tracks each play, symphony performance and ballet he attends on an annual basis – and it is a lot!  We are so fortunate to live in a time when live performances are plentiful and make for a relaxing good time.

I don’t keep a running tally, but today I was sorting through the “filing” and came across several tickets and playbills…  in the last couple of months I have been a joyful audience member for numerous events.  To start with I was able to see four shows outdoors this summer at American Players Theatre in Spring Green, WI:  The Admiral Crichton, by J. M. Barrie (known for Peter Pan of course!)  Twelfth Night (very funny – loved it!) and Richard the III (also by Shakespeare, but very dark, yet James Ridge was just amazing as the evil Richard) and The Royal Family (which is really a parady of the Barrymore family actors, with particular aim taken at John Barrymore and Ethel Barrymore.)

In Madison, WI,  I attended Parade (a musical that dramatizes the 1913 trial of Jewish factory manager Leo Frank, who was accused and convicted of murdering a thirteen-year-old employee, Mary Phagan – pretty intense, but moving to the end!) and Fame Jr. (at the Children’s Theatre of Madison) as well as a live outdoor concert with fireworks given by Wisconsin Youth Symphony Orchestra and I had a rollicking good time with The Capitol Steps at Overture Hall.

In LaCrosse, WI, I attended  The Pirates of Penzance at LaCrosse Community Theatre and another time crossed the Mississippi to get to LaCrescent, MN, to see Guys and Dolls directed by young Aaron White – he will be famous someday!

Please don’t ask me which was my favorite – they were all great for different reasons – a particular friend was in the show, directed the show or invited me to attend.  I’ll never turn down an offer for a live performance and I’m happy to have any reason to attend!  Next up – Jersey Boys at Overture and The Normal Heart at the Bartell both in downtown Madison, WI.

What Live Performances can you recommend?

