Last night I saw Tom Hanks’ intensity as Robert Langdon on my small screen in the 2009 thriller Angels and Demons (thanks to Amazon download!)  As I crawled into bed I was thinking about Hank’s roles in some of my favorite movies:simple Forrest Gump,  commander Jim Lovell in Apollo 13,  the comedic Viktor Navorski in The Terminal, and relatively recently, the coolest dead father ever in Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close.  There are many others and I have loved them all…

As I considered what I wanted to say about Tom Hanks, I kept thinking about how much I have enjoyed every character I have seen him play, and I wondered if he turns down roles that he finds distasteful.  Or is it just that he brings his own good character to the persona in the movie?

These thoughts made me wonder if it is difficult for him to know his own true identity when he has been in about 50 films.  I can’t begin to imagine what it would feel like to wake up each day and think, “who am I today?”

What do you think?

