My officeLast week I raised one of my desks (a.k.a tables) to be used as a standing desk.  So the next experiment begins – will standing at work be better for my posture, number of steps taken and overall feeling of well-being?

I think it could go either way…. reading up on the experiences of other people, they seem to agree that standing gave them more energy and they accomplished more.  One article in Harvard Business Review stated:

The human body is designed to stand, not sit. Standing is better for the back than sitting. It strengthens leg muscles and improves balance. It burns more calories than sitting. It is also a great antidote to the formation of blood clots deep in the legs. When you sit for long periods, blood flow slows through the legs. Sluggish blood flow can set the stage for a blood clot to form… Standing and walking squeeze valves in the leg veins, pushing blood upward toward the heart.

I found a list of hazards for standing in: The Dangers of Sitting at Work — and Standing.  They stated:

Like many health trends, however, standing desks can cause problems if they’re taken too far…

The article listed these hazards of standing all day:

  • Becoming more tired.
  • Dramatically increasing the risks of carotid atherosclerosis
  • Increasing the risks of varicose veins.
  • Reducing the ability to perform many fine motor skills
  • Increased neck flexion if screen is not at the right height.
  • Lastly, for standing computer work, the computer fixes the person’s posture, there is greater wrist extension and pretty soon people end up leaning which also compromises their wrist posture, thereby increasing the risks of a musculoskeletal disorder like carpal tunnel syndrome.

I used my stand up desk for the first time on Friday, with this schedule:

  • Sat: 7:30 – 9:30 (meeting)
  • Stood: 10 – 12
  • Sat: 12 – 1:30 (meeting)
  • Stood: 1:30 – 3:00
  • Sat:  3:00 – 4:30 (meeting)
  • Stood: 4:30 to 6

My legs felt a bit tight in the tops of my thighs – so perhaps I need to walk about more or not be so tense…. time will tell and I’ll report in again later this week.  If you use a stand-up desk, please let me know your personal pros and cons and of course any advice for a newbie.

For now – Happy Standing…

