What life will I retire to?

Well the new word is not “retire.”  According to John Nelson and Richard Bolles in What Color Is Your Parachute? For Retirement this “stage” of life may now be referred to as Re-Wirement, Rest-of-Life, Second Half of Life, Unretirement, Second Adolescence (really?!?) or The Bonus Years to name a few options they list.

Are you in this stage?  What do you call it?

If you aren’t there yet – are you planning?  Many years ago I read the generic “What Color is Your Parachute? A Practical Manual for Job-Hunters and Career-Changers” and later The Three Boxes of Life and How to Get Out of Them: An Introduction to Life/Work Planning. Now I am hoping to plan a future that doesn’t dwell on life/WORK balance (or imbalance) or have a focus on the next career changing event, but instead is a time of life where I can put my talents to “work” when and where I want, in as creative a manner as I can.

I know this will take some planning too and I like the Nelson/Bolles’ approach, start by looking at where you are at in the three areas of well-being:  Health, Prosperity and Happiness.  Then they break the model of well-being down to the elements of an ideal “retirement” and they are:  Place, Relationships, Strengths, Practices, Medicine (who is in charge?) and Pillars (financial).

Chapter three, which I plan to read tonight, is titled The Life you Can Live (Right Now) and peaking ahead I can see that the book concludes with The New Retirement – an Undivided Life.  The last section of the last chapter probably provides the best advice right in its heading: “Don’t Wait Until retirement to Live Your Ideal Life.”  It urges the reader to bring his or her life in alignment with core values right away and quotes Joseph Campbell, “If you follow your bliss, you put yourself on a kind of track that has been there all the while, waiting for you, and the life that you ought to be living is the one you are living.”

Now to read chapter three and find my bliss…

